NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4080 Comes in 12GB and 16GB Variants

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 4080 Comes in 12GB and 16GB Variants

NVIDIA's upcoming GeForce RTX 4080 "Ada," a successor to the RTX 3080 "Ampere," reportedly comes in two distinct variants based on memory size, memory bus width, and possibly even core-configuration. MEGAsizeGPU reports that they have seen two reference designs for the RTX 4080, one with 12 GB of memory and a 10-layer PCB, and the other with 16 GB of memory and a 12-layer PCB. Increasing numbers of PCB layers enable greater density of wiring around the ASIC. At debut, the flagship product from NVIDIA is expected to be the RTX 4090, with its 24 GB memory size, and 14-layer PCB. Apparently, the 12 GB and 16 GB variants of the RTX 4080 feature vastly different PCB designs.

We've known from past attempts at memory-based variants, such as the GTX 1060 (3 GB vs. 6 GB), or the more recent RTX 3080 (10 GB vs. 12 GB), that NVIDIA turns to other levers to differentiate variants, such as core-configuration (numbers of available CUDA cores), and the same is highly likely with the RTX 4080. The RTX 4080 12 GB, RTX 4080 16 GB, and the RTX 4090, could be NVIDIA's answers to AMD's RDNA3-based successors of the RX 6800, RX 6800 XT, and RX 6950 XT, respectively.

Continue Reading

Also covered by

Loading data